Goals In Life

“Give me a stock clerk with a goal and I’ll give you a man who will make history. Give me a man with no goals and I’ll give you a stock clerk.” J.C. Penney

I believe that in order to be successful in life and anything you do one must have set goals.  Goals ranging form your personal life to you professional desires.  I used to have a great co-worker who was close to his 40s in age.  I remember talking to him, he was such a charming, funny guy.  I remember asking him, ” How does such a great guy like you end up single.”  He replied, “I guess I just never planned for it.”  After that I gave him the spill about my poor aunt in Mexico who never got married or had children and now she lives all alone in Mexico with diabetes and no one to care for her.  I told him that’s is never to late. I emphasized the goals in ones personal life because in order to be successful professionally one needs the balance of both.  Many individuals bring their emotions to work bringing down the whole team, so remember plan  for happiness.

Once you have your personal goals set its time to set your professional goals.  Education can have a big influence on your professional goals.  Education opens the door to opportunity. One mistake I did was think that education alone was enough to get me to where I wanted to be.  When planning make sure to set small goals in between while you accomplish your larger goals.  For example my life goal was to get my bachelors degree  and that was it.  So when I got my bachelors degree I was so unprepared.  I never did any internships or volunteer work to add experience to my degree so I had trouble getting into the field I enjoyed.  If you ever feel lost its okay, review your goals and and remove some, but always try to  be as specific as possible.  Never settle for less and dream big.

Picture Credit

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

