Last Minute Notice

Being a new Project Manager can be hectic.  Its very important be organized and know what you will need next in order for the process to flow smoothly.  Not only do you have to manage your work but sometimes you also have to manage the work of your team members.

One of the first things I have learned is to never wait until the last minute.  I was working on updating a project tracker and I had 1 hour left until the expected due time when I realized I was missing a piece of information.  Not only was I missing something but I would have to turn to my team member to find that information.  All my team members are just as busy as me and now that team member had to put their work on hold so that I could meet my deadline.

It seems like, in large projects sometimes its okay to miss deadline.  Deadlines are always being pushed back.  Is it bad planning or lazy Project Managers?  Either way I’m the kind of person that rarely misses a deadline.  I guess as part of a team you just have to work together in order to be successful.  From now on when I’m working on a project I will first scan it to see what information  I need to get from others and then start working on the things I can handle myself.

Building strong relationships is important a person who is your friend will be more willing to help you than someone who dislikes you. Remember never give last minute notice it stresses the whole team.

Picture Credit

  1. #1 by Martin Webster on April 3, 2011 - 4:46 AM

    Sometimes deadlines will be missed. What’s important is that this doesn’t come as a surprise; the project manager should be in control and know what impact any delay may have on the plan. As I described in a recent post on the project control cycle the project manager needs to continually track and manage progress of the project.

    • #2 by Marisela Fernandez on April 3, 2011 - 12:17 PM

      Thanks for the advice I always feel like I did something wrong when a deadline is not met, but just seeing all the different angles of a project I know its bound to happen.

Leave a Reply

