Always Look to the Positive When Moving on

As  a young professional, I have never liked to change jobs often.  I remember my first job I lasted 5 years, and my most recent job I have been there almost 3years.  The time has come for me to move up in my career and say good bye to my present job.  How do you say good bye to 3years of memories and hard work?

A job is a job and I could sit here and dwell on all the negative things about my job but instead I have decided to concentrate on the positive aspects.  Working 11 hour shifts including a 1 hour lunch can be very difficult. It leads to a really long day, I’m taking this experience and using it to my advantage. Moving up into a salaried position means you don’t leave until the job is done. Working rough hours day in day out has prepared me for those tough days.

My job was repetitious and easy so I always looked for volunteer work to spice up my experience. Large corporations often have special interest committees that required great leadership and communication skills. I joined 2 committees at my current job to hep me network among employees outside of my department.  These opportunities have helped me develop professionally.  Remember, it doesn’t matter how easy a job is you still need to prove that you can complete the easy tasks in order to be given and opportunity to do more difficult tasks.

The most difficult part of leaving a current position is saying good bye to all your great coworkers.  It’s always a tear filled event for me saying goodbye to all those people that have held my hand through out  the years to make sure we succeeded together.  Don’t forget to say good bye to upper management and everyone who made a difference in your daily work life.  Below is a good guide line to follow when turning in your resignation.

  • Always give 2 weeks notice so that the company has a chance to hire someone new and plan for changes
  • Don’t brag about your new job
  • Don’t tell anyone off who has made your job hell, remember you won’t be dealing with them anymore
  • Be sure to thank management for all the training and opportunities to develop (face to face or through email)
  • Never talk negative about past employers
  • Don’t leave any open ends

Picture Credit

  1. #1 by RJ Haffke on March 20, 2011 - 2:19 PM

    This is good stuff and very applicable to anyone with a job, especially the part about not talking bad about past employers. Sometimes questions asked in interviews are meant to see if the candidate will bash their former employers, and if you do, you will have fallen for the trap and you won’t be offered the position.

    Does this post mean you are moving on from your current position!?

    -RJ

    • #2 by Marisela Fernandez on March 20, 2011 - 2:48 PM

      Yes, next week is my last week and then I’m starting a new job with a new company. Thanks for reading my post!

Leave a Reply

