Negotiation

As a young business professional I was never taught the skill of salary negotiation.  Just recently I attended a seminar and learned that on average a women will make $1,200,000 million  dollars less than a male coworker with the exact same skill set.  The gap gets wider when compared to Latino women.  Being a Latino women I began to think to myself why this could be so. Is it the businesses fault for being discriminatory or is it the individuals  fault.

I am first generation born in the United States.  I remember living in a beat up mobile home.  Our family didn’t even own a car and sure enough when I turned 16 I started working.  My life was absorbed by school, sports and work.  I think back to how I did it and I don’t think I could do it again.  I use my life as an example to show how hard individuals work to make it in the US and to find the answer to this growing wage gap.

I feel that having experienced the worse,  juggling  a  low paying  job and attending school  has made me vulnerable.  Vulnerable in the sense that I’m going to settle for the first offer that’s offered to me because its better than anything I’ve had in the past.  No one should ever have to settle.   I think that as a group many Latinos & Women  in the same generation as me or before me have felt this.  They have worked hard to educate themselves to move up and live the American Dream they were promised.   I believe that the wage gap exist because as a group we settle for the first offer given to us.  Bellow is a list of tips to help close the ever growing wage gap among  Men, Women & Minorities.

  • Know your worth and the worth of  the job you are being offered.
  • Don’t accept the job write away give yourself sometime to think about it.
  • Remember the employer made you the offer they want you.
  • Create a budget, will your salary be enough.
  • Never be the first to mention a salary amount, if asked answer:  I would like to learn more about the position first.  I was wondering what you think the job is worth. or I would like to be paid fairly for what I bring to the position.

A wage gap exist today because women  & minorities are settling for less.  Always negotiate and don’t be afraid to ask if it’s possible to be offered more.  I advise any individual looking for a job to search online there is a wealth of information to set you in the right direction.  Negotiate don’t settle no manager is going to offer you all he’s got.

Picture Credit

  1. #1 by Sumiko Maser on March 13, 2011 - 11:18 PM

    Great post! I especially like the first bullet-point “Know your worth and the worth of the job you are being offered.” I think this is often overlooked and should be taken into consideration more often. I know I will pay more attention in the future. Thanks!

    • #2 by Marisela Fernandez on March 14, 2011 - 5:21 AM

      Thanks for reading my post, the UNR engineering department offers the seminar every year you should look out for it.

  2. #3 by ashleycray on April 26, 2011 - 9:12 PM

    Marisela I love this post! I think another reason why we sometimes “settle” for low pay is due to our current economic conditions. People say “a job offer with low pay is better than no job” so you then begin justifying the low pay.

    But the wage gap between women and men really makes me angry. You should read the book “Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office” (I think that’s what it is called). It has a lot to do with mistakes women commonly make in the work place.

    Thanks!
    Ashley

Leave a Reply

