Project Management

Hello, my name is Marisela Fernandez, I grew up in the small town  were there is little to do and lots to explore.  Growing up in such a small town made me develop a passion for traveling and learning about new cultures.  Since I graduated college I have traveled to over 6 countries.  My favorite country is Argentina.  I love the outgoing Argentinian culture.  I think I developed my love for travel and culture further during my undergrad studies of International Business.  When I graduated with my undergrad degree all I wanted to do was travel.  After juggling work and school for over 5 years I needed a break.  I figured I had the rest of my life to work.

Well here I am 4 years later and I am ready to start doing the research and open opportunities in the field that interest me, Project Management.  The economic downturn has hindered my ability to find the job I want.  Every time I apply for a job there is always someone who has more experience or connections than me.

My advice to others who might be struggling like me, to get into the field of project management is don’t cut yourself short keep looking and trying.  To better my chances of finding the career path I seek I have returned to college and I am working on my Masters of Business Administration (MBA).

I am tired of waiting so today I am starting my blog to write about my personal experience in Project Management as well as to research and learn from others in the field.  I hope to build relationships that will lead me in the right direction for my career goals.  I have a current job in which I work very hard and have gained many leadership and team building skills that will help me in the future.  I look forward to hearing from others that have been in my shoes.  I would like to know what you did to get where you are today.

Photo Credit

  1. #1 by Samad Aidane on February 24, 2011 - 11:56 AM

    Marisela,

    Congratulations on taking this important step and sharing your thoughts and ideas with the world. I know it is a very difficult thing to do. It took me over a year before I got the courage to write my first blog. Like you, I just got sick and tired of waiting. One book I read that got me over the risistance was the War or Art (not the art of war). The book is about how to overcome the resistance we all experience when we are about to do something bit that matters.

    Just wanted to tell you congratulations and don’t stop writing. I plan to register to your blog so I can come back to and check out your ideas.

    Looking forward to future conversations.

    Cheers,

    Samad Aidane.

    Samad Aidane
    Host of PM Telesummits
    http://www.PMTelesummits.com
    http://www.GuerrillaProjectManagement.com

    • #2 by Marisela Fernandez on March 2, 2011 - 12:58 PM

      I agree, it can be really hard knowing what to right for your blog and you never now how the public is going to react. Thanks, I will spread the word on the telesummit!

Leave a Reply

